Why WE are all to blame for Miley Cyrus…

At the risk of beating a dead horse, I have a few thoughts on all this Miley Cyrus, teddy bear, twerking business.  So here goes…

I was strolling through my twitter feed Sunday night and all of a sudden the internet world blew up with “shock” about Miley Cyrus’ performance.  How could little Hannah Montana do such a thing.  I have read blogs about how this is about a girl trying to find herself and express herself and is just going about it in the wrong way.

To that I say, Not even close…

Miley and her promotor know exactly what they are doing.  It is a time tested formula.  It has worked since the beginning of Rock and Roll.  Publicity is publicity.  Shock factor sells.  And we’re all stupid enough to keep falling for it…

Elvis shook his pelvis and parents everywhere were shocked while girls everywhere swooned.  I grew up in the 80’s where Madonna made a career out of shocking fans.  We couldn’t believe what we were seeing at times, but, like a bad train wreck, we kept watching.  And buying concert tickets, and watching MTV, just curious to see what would happen next.

While Madonna became a bizillionaire from our shock…

We sat by and watched as all the Disney “princesses” went through the same types of campaigns to shed their little girl images.  We bought their records too…

Are you seeing a trend here?

Miley has us all like putty in her hands.  The twittershpere blew up with hashtags about Miley Cyrus.  She’s been all over the news.  Even in the posts that are about outrage, she gets attention, which is exactly what she wants.  (I am fully aware of the hypocrisy of me blogging about this, and bringing more attention to her with my 40 something readers…)

You may be thinking to yourself that Elvis wasn’t as bad as THIS!  Madonna didn’t do THESE kinds of things.  Trust me, Elvis was just as shocking in his day and Madonna was in hers, it just takes a lot more to shock us these days.

Let me ask you a question.  When you watch the VMA’s, what are you expecting?  You are tuning in to watch a show that has a history of pushing the envelope.  Are you tuning in to see who it will be this year?  Are you actually waiting for the train wreck?

Speaking of hypocrisy, it seems to me that we Americans are a bit hypocritical when we will continually support an industry where the types of things that Miley Cyrus did on stage are continually sung about, lauded, and even praised, and then we get mad at our little Hannah Montana for acting them out…

Just a thought,

n8

3 thoughts on “Why WE are all to blame for Miley Cyrus…

  1. Since I do not tweet, neither did I watch Madonna in the 80’s nor swoon for Elvis; I absolve myself of all blame for the young Ms. Montana/Cyrus.
    How do you like them apples?
    However, I may be at some fault for the downward spiral of western civilization.

Leave a Reply

