If I’m Adding to the Noise…

It’s been a while since I wrote anything on this blog.  Part of that was probably life just catching up with me, but I also stopped blogging intentionally…

I just got tired of all the words.  One of the things about the information society we live in is that we are bombarded by words.  And social media isn’t helping.  It used to be that we tended to get our words from people that were somewhat educated on the topic they were writing about.  Now we get words from everybody, all day long, every day…

I’m sure we’ve all read status updates and thought, “I am glad I wasted 30 seconds of my life reading that!”

Add to that the fact that tons of wanna be writers like myself have blogs, and at times it is overwhelming.  It feels like so much white noise.  I guess I just felt like I was adding to the noise.

I think I noticed all this because I was trying to return to the practices of silence and solitude.  I had gotten a little lax in those practices.  To make a long story short, I was trying to learn to speak less and listen more.  I was reminded that many of our words are used to bring attention to ourselves, as defense mechanisms, or to manipulate others.  I wanted to hear the Living Word of God, Jesus Christ.

So I stopped blogging for a bit.

Then I ran into my friend Brenda.  Her sister was tragically killed in a car accident on Thanksgiving, and I was able to be at the funeral. She said, “you haven’t written a blog in a while”, and I let her know that I was spending time listening instead of talking.  But our conversation reminded me why I got into blogging years ago.

First, I like to write… But more than that, I felt like the internet was a great opportunity to minister to people all over the world literally.  John Wesley used to say “All the world is my parish…”  That was my motto when I started my first myspace note.  You see, we preachers expend a tremendous amount of energy preparing sermons, studying scripture, and spending time seeking God’s guidance in prayer.  My sermon might be delivered to 100 people on a Sunday.  But I see my responsibility as a minister to encompass more than just my local church.  In other words, “all the world in my parish”.  In the age we live in, I have the opportunity and the responsibility to minister to people who I may never even meet.

So I hope to start blogging again.  However, in the spirit of the old Switchfoot song, if I am adding to the noise of words in your life, feel free to not follow this blog.  For the rest of you, I hope to get back to blogging.  I hope that somehow a word that is written will be a word that ministers to you in a time of need.

3 thoughts on “If I’m Adding to the Noise…

  1. Sweet noise to me my friend. I was so blessed to see you at Debbie’s funeral. Your words are inspired by our Savior so it is never noise. Keep writing you are reaching more than you realize and changing lives. We have to press on and inspired words from God are like a breath of fresh air. Bigs hugs my wonderful friend, love Brenda

Leave a Reply

