Keep It Simple Stupid…

I like to think about things.  Truth be told, I like to over think things.  It fascinates me that theologians really still don’t have an answer to the question, “How does Jesus death and resurrection bring about atonement for the people of God?”  We have what we call atonement theories, but all of these theories have holes in them.  There is no cut and dried answer to the question.  There will always be some mystery to it.  (I won’t give a detailed understanding of atonement theories here, that has been done elsewhere by lots of different people who are a lot smarter than me!)

But sometimes all this thinking about the things of God leaves my head swimming and I need to be reminded to get back to the basics.  I need someone to remind me to “Keep It Simple Stupid!”

Jesus had this unique way of taking very deep and profound theological thoughts and weaving them into stories about sheep and goats, farmers, banquets, etc…  Jesus had a way of making things simple.

Like when he said that the first commandment was to love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength and to love your neighbor as yourself.  Jesus summed up the whole life of faith in two statements.

I have often said I think Jesus could have summed the whole of the gospel in the first statement.  I think it is hard to love God with your heart, soul, mind and strength and then NOT love your neighbor as yourself.  Loving God always seems to lead to loving other people.

Of course maybe Jesus just knew some of us would run away from the rest of the world trying to love God with our heart, soul, mind and strength.  He didn’t want a bunch of God-loving hermits.

Today, I had one of my Keep It Simple Stupid moments.  It was as if God gave me a question to filter the events of my life through.  One simple question.

How can I love Jesus doing this?

So no matter what “this” is, I ask myself, “How can I love Jesus doing this?”

How can I love Jesus preparing my sermon for the week?  How can I love Jesus on my lunch hour?  How can I love Jesus in the 2 hour meeting I sat through today? How can I love Jesus in the time I will spend with my family tonight?  How can I love Jesus on the basketball court in the morning? 

All of those scenarios will have different answers.  I should probably study diligently for my sermon.  Maybe on my lunch hour I eat leftovers instead of spending money at a restaurant.  At my meeting, I actually listen instead of texting and checking my phone every two minutes.  Maybe I make sure I am actually present with my family instead of just co-existing.  Maybe the toughest place for me to love Jesus is on the basketball court, but that may be the subject of another blog someday!

I thought maybe this simple question might help someone else out.  As you go through your day, just ask yourself the question, “How can I love Jesus doing this?”  It might change the way you do some things in your daily routine, and change the way you look at life altogether!

Just a thought,

n8

Leave a Reply

